Good Boy by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy – Jenn’s Review

WHY I READ IT

Bowen and Kennedy are a supreme writing duo. Everything they write is an automatic one-click.

WHAT I RATED IT

WHAT IT’S ABOUT

Hosting her brother’s wedding for an MVP guest list is the challenge of Jess Canning’s life. Already the family screw-up, she can’t afford to fail. And nobody (nobody!) can learn of the colossal mistake she made with the best man during a weak moment last spring. It was wrong, and there will not be a repeat. Absolutely not. Even if he is the sexiest thing on two legs.

Blake Riley sees the wedding as fate’s gift to him. Jess is the maid of honor and he’s the best man? Let the games begin. So what if he’s facing a little (fine, a lot) of resistance? He just needs to convince the stubborn blonde that he’s really a good boy with a bad rap. Luckily, every professional hockey player knows that you’ve got to make an effort if you want to score.

But Jess has more pressing issues to deal with than sexy-times with a giant man-child. Such as: Will the ceremony start on time, even though someone got grandma drunk? Does glitter ever belong at a wedding? And is it wrong to murder the best man?

Caution: May cause accidental aspiration of tea or coffee. Do not read in a public place where loud laughter is inappropriate. Contains hot but hilarious hockey players, puppy cuddling and a snarky pair of underwear.

JENN’S REVIEW

I’ll be honest. I was worried about my feelings going into this book. I loved Wes and Jamie so much. So much. I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to them. I was afraid that I would treat Good Boy as a Wes and Jamie knock-off, and only live for the scenes we spent with them. I will admit. I was wrong. Very, very wrong. For fans of Wes and Jamie, or Wesime, as Blake likes to refer to them, you’ll get plenty of them. But this is Jess and Blake’s story, and they tell it beautifully. If you haven’t read US, and honestly, I’m not sure I want to know you if you haven’t, that’s where Blake and Jess first meet. Don’t worry though, they tell you all about their first encounter, so you don’t feel like you’ve missed anything.

If there is only one thing I can tell you about this book, it is funny. Laugh-out-loud, snorting-a-beverage-out-of-your-nose funny. Even the chapter titles are funny, (Ch. 2 WTF Does Everyone Have Against Glitter). But it’s more than just a good time.

So much more.

Blake wants Jess, and Jess will do anything and everything to avoid him. Their game of cat and mouse is incredibly entertaining. It was a lot of fun to watch a man, who really just liked sleeping with a girl, figure out he was falling for her. In the same respect, I knew that Jess wasn’t going to be able to avoid Blake for very long. He was just too damn sexy for his own good! Blake is charming, outgoing, and the guy that everyone wants to be friends with. He’s always up for a good time, something that is a fault in Jess’s eyes. Coming from a family that has no problem achieving their goals, Jess is still finding her way. Any involvement with Blake will knock her off her path. Problem for Jess is, Blake is damn near irresistible.

Bowen and Kennedy help Blake and Jess navigate the friends with benefits waters perfectly. They are a supreme writing duo. The best co-written books are the ones that are seamless, and that is Good Boy. They could be writing whole chapters, or just paragraphs, but you get the same excellence from page one, straight through until the end. It would be easier to tell you the parts I didn’t highlight as opposed to did. My kindle is full of pink highlights! Every scene and line were pure magic. Good Boy is firmly cemented in my top reads of all time.

Please like & share: